top of page
parade with kids.jpg
Longtime Contra Costa Resident

Get  to know Diane

Diane has lived most of her life in Contra Costa County and lives in Oakley. She is the proud mom of three sons and a proud grandma to two grandson.

"I chose to raise my family here because I wanted them to grow up in a place that had good schools, where I could afford a home that they could be proud of, and where we would feel safe."


Diane currently is serving in her second term on the Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors and is serving as the Chair of the board in 2021.  Prior to serving on the Board of Supervisors, she served on the East Bay Regional Park District and the Oakley City Council.


Diane worked for 10 years as the Executive Director of Friends of Marsh Creek Watershed, a nonprofit that promoted the preservation and protection of Marsh Creek through community service events, outreach, habitat restoration, preserving open space, and water quality monitoring.


She also worked for over 10 years as a small business owner who provided mobile fleet services to businesses. She has been actively involved in raising money and awareness for Tuberous Sclerosis for over 21 years. She served as Chairperson for the Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance of Northern California.

brody curl.jpg
"We need her expertise on the Board of Supervisors."

Joan Buchanan

Retired California State Assemblywoman

& President of Restore the Delta

"..she is hands down superior

to her opponent."


Endorsed by the EAST BAY TIMES

Elected Leader

Diane was first elected to the Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors in 2016 and was reelected in 2020. She is currently the Chair of the Board of Supervisors. She currently serves on 30 different committees including the Delta Protection Commission, the Contra Costa County Family Justice Center, East Contra County Habitat Conservancy, 2021 Redistricting , State Route 4 Bypass Authority, just to name a few.

She previously served as Director of Ward 7 on the East Bay Regional Park District which oversaw then over 120,000 acres in both Alameda and Contra Costa County serving over 2.6 million people with a $205 million budget that is not just parks and trails. The park district is a very diversified land and water system of 65 regional parks, recreation areas, wildernesses, shorelines, preserves, land banks and 31 regional, inter-park trails. EBRPD receive over 22 million visitors each year. The district has its own police and a fire department which includes a total staff of up to 1,200 people during the summer season.  While serving on EBRPD she represented the cities of Antioch, Bay Point, Bethel Island, Brentwood, Byron, Clyde, Crockett, Discovery Bay, Hercules, Martinez, Oakley, Pacheco, parts of Pinole, Pittsburg, Port Costa, Rodeo, and other unincorporated areas of Contra Costa County.

and served on the Regional Planning Committee for the Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG).


Previous to sitting on the EBRPD Board Diane served on the Oakley City Council. She served on the Delta Protection Commission, on the Executive Board for the East Bay League of Cities, and Transportation, Communication & Public Works Policy Committee for the League of California Cities and represented the Women’s Caucus on that committee.

garcetti and delta sups.jpg

Diane, Lily Ledbetter & Assemblywoman Joan Buchanan at the California State Assemby Woman of the Year Ceremony in 2012.

Recognized for Serving Her Community




Diane received the Women Improving the Environment Award from the Contra Costa Women’s Hall of Fame. The Board of Supervisors established the Contra Costa Women’s Hall of Fame in October 1997 to acknowledge those exceptional, multifaceted women who have enhanced life in Contra Costa County through their careers and volunteer activities.

The honorees have made a difference through their efforts towards equity, innovation, service or achievement in commerce or community outreach.

2012 California State Assembly District 15 WOMAN OF THE YEAR

Diane was named California State Assembly District 15 Woman of the Year for 2012 for her work on behalf of the environment and in the community.



In 2011 Ms. Burgis was awarded the “Watershed Champion” award by the Contra Costa County Watershed Forum, an open committee of some fifty organizations, including state and local agencies, local non-profit environmental and education organizations, community volunteer groups, and private citizens.


The “Watershed Champion” award is presented every four years honoring a person who works to build partnerships and provide leadership in protecting, restoring or enhancing creeks and watersheds.  The Watershed Champion Award is given those that have inspired others to work collaboratively toward addressing conservation issues in Contra Costa County.   Past recipients include Contra Costa County Deputy Public Works Director Mitch Avalon and East Bay Regional Park District Director Whitney Dotson.


For her work with Friends of Marsh Creek Watershed in 2015 they were awarded the

Youth Champion Award

by Earn & Learn East Bay in collaboration with the Contra Costa Economic Partnership, Diablo Gateways to Innovation Consortium, & the Workforce Development Board of Contra Costa County.




ifpte 21 award.jpg

Privacy Policy

Join Us


Paid for by Diane Burgis for County Supervisor 2020 FPPC # 1417431

bottom of page